The Immortalists

“A captivating family saga.”—The New York Times Book Review

“You won’t be able to put it down.”—The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)

“A sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a “great

new talent.”

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic

who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak

out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San

Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks

security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary

between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality

and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the

unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

The Immortalists

(0 reviews)
Tác giả: Chloe Benjamin
Số trang: 426 Kích thước: 15.1 x 22.8 cm Ngày xuất bản: 01-2018 Nhà xuất bản: Penguin Books Công ty Phát hành: Penguin Random House